Gordon Lab Personnel

 Principal Investigator

Jeffrey Gordon, MD (jgordon[at]wustl.edu)


Clinical Assistant Professor

Michael Barrett

Michael Barratt, PhD (mjbarratt[at]wustl.edu)


Program Director, Breast Milk, gut Microbiome, and Immunity (BMMI) Project

Executive Director, Center for Gut Microbiome and Nutrition Research

 Research Assistant Professor

Nicholas Griffin, PhD (nwgriffin[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing the interrelationships between human dietary components, the human gut microbiota, and childhood undernutrition

 Instructors

Jiye Cheng

Jiye Cheng, PhD (JCheng24[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing expressed metabolic features of the developing gut microbiota of healthy and undernourished infants and children

Matt Hibberd, PhD (hibberdm[at]wustl.edu)


Multi-omics analysis of the effects of microbiota-directed therapeutics on the biological state of children with moderate and severe acute malnutrition

Eviatar Natan

Michael Patnode, PhD (mpatnode[at]wustl.edu)


Development of microbiota-directed foods; defining bioactive components of dietary fibers and the molecular mechanisms by which they affect members of the human gut microbiota, including their competitive and cooperative interactions.
Sid Venkatesh

Siddarth (Sid) Venkatesh, PhD (svenkatesh[at]wustl.edu)


Gnotobiotic mouse models for characterizing the effects of the developing human gut microbiota on enteroendocrine cell biology/host metabolism

Ashley Wolf, PhD (arwolf[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing the mechanisms by which members of the human gut microbiota metabolize chemical modifications of food ingredients introduced during food processing

 Postdoctoral Fellows

Lihua Feng

Carrie Cowardin, PhD (ccowardin[at]wustl.edu)


Effects of the developing human gut microbiota on bone biology

Nathan Han, PhD (D.han[at]wustl.edu)


Studies of how members of the human gut microbiota mine and metabolize components of dietary fibers

Arjun Raman

Arjun Raman, MD, PhD (arjun.raman[at]wustl.edu)


Development of computational tools for feature reduction that describe the dynamic operations of gut microbial communities in healthy and malnourished infants and children

Sid Venkatesh

Siddarth (Sid) Venkatesh, PhD (svenkatesh[at]wustl.edu)


Gnotobiotic mouse models for characterizing the effects of the developing human gut microbiota on enteroendocrine cell biology/host metabolism

Daniel Webber, MD, PhD (dmwebber[at]wustl.edu)

 

Characterizing structure/activity relationships in microbiota-directed complementary food prototypes for treating childhood undernutrition

Darryl Wesener

Darryl Wesener, PhD (dwesener[at]wustl.edu)


Microbial community metabolism of insoluble glycan aggregates

Ashley Wolf, PhD (arwolf[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing the mechanisms by which members of the human gut microbiota metabolize chemical modifications of food ingredients introduced during food processing

Top^

 Graduate Students

Hao-Wei Chang

Zach Beller (beller.z[at]wustl.edu)


Computational & Systems Biology Program

 

Characterizing the mechanisms underlying fiber-derived glycan metabolism in manipulatable gnotobiotic mouse models of the human gut microbiota

Hannah Bucklin

Hannah Lynn (Bucklin) (hmbucklin[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Cell Biology Program

 

Development of microbiota-directed complementary food prototypes for treating childhood undernutrition in different populations living in different geographic locations and having different anthropologic features

Hao-Wei Chang

Alexandra Byrne (byrne[at]wustl.edu)


Neurosciences

Intergenerational transfer of gut microbial communities and their effects on neurodevelopment in the context of childhood undernutrition

Cyrus Zhou

Clara Kao (clarakao[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Genetics and Genomics

 

Preclinical and clinical studies of the pathogenesis of environmental enteric dysfunction in stunted Bangladeshi children

Hao-Wei Chang

Hao-Wei Chang (chang.hao-wei[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis Graduate Program

Gnotobiotic piglet models for identifying interventions for durably repairing gut microbiota immaturity in undernourished children

Omar Delannoy-Bruno

Robert Chen (robert.chen[at]wustl.edu)


Computational & Systems Biology Program

 

Characterizing the mechanisms underlying development of environmental enteric dysfunction in undernourished children and the effects of the developing gut microbiota on brain development

Omar Delannoy-Bruno

Omar Delannoy-Bruno (delannoy-bruno[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis Graduate Program

 

Preclinical and human studies of the mechanism of action and biological effects of microbiota-directed fiber-based foods in obese adults with or without associated metabolic dysfunction

James Weagley

Jimmy Weagley (jsweagley[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Genetics and Genomics Graduate Program

 

Role of the gut microbiota in NAD metabolism in healthy and undernourished children

Cyrus Zhou

Cyrus Zhou (czhou25[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Genetics and Genomics

 

Computational and experimental analyses of gut microbiome development/expression in healthy and undernourished Bangladeshi children

Undergraduate

Miriam Applbaum

Miriam Applbaum (applbaum[at]wustl.edu)


Cultural/societal/regulatory implicaitons related to the development of microbiota-directed complementary foods for the treatment of childhood malnutrition

MSwetha Nakshatri

Swetha Nakshatri (snakshatri[at]wustl.edu)



Senior Research Scientist

Janaki Lelwala-Guruge, PhD (Janaki[at]wustl.edu)


Culturing bacterial strains from the gut microbiota of children with undernutrition and adults with obesity

Mass Spectrometrist

Jiye Cheng

Jiye Cheng, PhD (JCheng24[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing expressed metabolic features of the developing gut microbiota of healthy and undernourished infants and children

Bioinformaticist

Chandani Desai

Chandani Desai (cdesai[at]wustl.edu)


 

Technicians

Kazi Ahsan (ahsan[at]wustl.edu)


Management of biospecimen repositories related to studies of childhood malnutrition

Su Deng (sdeng[at]wustl.edu)


Generation of multi-omic datasets from human gut microbiota samples

Vinaik Sundaresan (vinaiksundaresan[at]wustl.edu)

 

Multi-omic analysis of the effects of microbiota-directed foods on the biological state of children with malnutrition

Maria Karlsson (karlsson[at]wustl.edu)


Co-director of gnotobiotic facility

Marty Meier (mmeier[at]wustl.edu)


Director, CGS_SB Robotics Facility

David O'Donnell (dodonnell[at]wustl.edu)


Co-director of gnotobiotic facility

Sabrina Wagoner

Sabrina Wagoner (wagoner[at]wustl.edu)


Research Lab Manager

 

Justin Serugo

Justin Serugo (jserugo[at]wustl.edu)


Research Technician gnotobiotic facility

Administrative Staff

Stephanie Amen (samen[at]wustl.edu)


Assistant to Jeffrey Gordon

Top ^