Gordon Lab Personnel

 Principal Investigator

Jeffrey Gordon, MD (jgordon[at]wustl.edu)


 Research Assistant Professor

Michael Barrett

Michael Barratt, PhD (mbarratt[at]wustl.edu)


Program Director, Breast Milk, gut Microbiome, and Immunity (BMMI) Project

Executive Director, Center for Gut Microbiome and Nutrition Research

 Assistant Professor

Nicholas Griffin, PhD (ngriffin[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing the interrelationships between human dietary components, the human gut microbiota, and the pathogenesis of childhood undernutrition

 Instructor

Philip Ahern, PhD (pahern[at]wustl.edu)


Using combinatorial approaches and gnotobiotic mouse models to identify effector bacterial strains in the human gut microbiota that control accumulation of regulatory T cells, and the pathways through which this control is exerted

 Postdoctoral Fellows

Lihua Feng

Carrie Cowardin, PhD (ccowardin[at]wustl.edu)


Effect of the developing gut microbiota on bone biology

Lihua Feng

Lihui Feng, PhD (lfeng23[at]wustl.edu)


The genomic and metabolic determinants of microbial succession in the gut

Matt Hibberd, PhD (hibberdm[at]wustl.edu)


The functional responses of members of the human gut microbiota to dietary micronutrient deficiencies

Vanderlene Kung, MD, PhD (vkung[at]wustl.edu)


Characterizing the relationships between the gut microbiota and environmental enteric dysfunction

Eviatar Natan

Michael Patnode, PhD (patnode[at]wustl.edu)


Defining syntropic relationships among members of the human gut microbiota as it relates to carbohydrate metabolism

Sid Venkatesh

Siddarth (Sid) Venkatesh, PhD (svenkatesh[at]wustl.edu)


Gnotobiotic mouse models for characterizing the effects of childhood undernutrition on host metabolism and CNS biology

Darryl Wesener

Darryl Wesener, PhD (dwesener[at]wustl.edu)


Microbial community metabolism of insoluble glycan aggregates

Ashley Wolf, PhD (arwolf[at]wustl.edu)


Gnotobiotic mouse models for characterizing interactions between dietary proteins and the human gut microbiota

Top^

 Graduate Students

Hao-Wei Chang

Hao-Wei Chang (chang.hao-wei[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis Graduate Program

Gnotobiotic piglet models for identifying complementary food-based interventions for durably repairing gut microbiota immaturity in undernourished children

Omar Delannoy-Bruno

Omar Delannoy-Bruno (delannoy-bruno[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis Graduate Program

 

Characterizing the interactions human gut bacterial strains recovered from twins stably discordant for obesity with dietary components

Jeanette Gehrig

Jessica Forman (jlforman[at]wustl.edu)


The effects of dietary fibers on the human gut microbiota and host biology

Jeanette Gehrig

Jeanette Gehrig (jgehrig[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Genetics and Genomics Graduate Program

Gnotobiotic mouse models for characterizing the gut microbiota of chlildren with severe or moderate acute undernutrition and the responses of component age- and growth discriminatory bacterial strains to food-based therapeutic interventions

Nathan Han (D.han[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Genetics and Genomics Graduate Program

 

Metabolomic studies of the effects of polysaccharides on model human gut microbial communities established in gnotobiotic models

James Weagley

Jimmy Weagley (jsweagley[at]wustl.edu)


Molecular Genetics and Genomics Graduate Program

 

Analyzing the nutrient needs/preferences of age- and growth-discriminatory bacterial strains present in developing gut microbiota of infants/children living in Bangladesh

Undergraduate

Julie Veitinger (juliakveitinger[at]wustl.edu)

 

Culturing members of the human gut microbiota

Senior Research Scientist

Janaki Lelwala-Guruge, PhD (Janaki[at]wustl.edu)


Culturing bacterial strains from the gut microbiota of children with undernutrition and adults with obesity

Mass Spectrometrist

Jiye Cheng

Jiye Cheng, PhD (JCheng24[at]wustl.edu)


Mass spectrometrometry studies of the metabolic features of human gut microbiota and its effect on host metabolism

Technicians

Kazi Ahsan (ahsan[at]wustl.edu)


Management of biospecimen repositories related to studies of childhood undernutrition

Su Deng (sdeng[at]wustl.edu)


Comparative analyses of human gut microbial community membership

Maria Karlsson (karlsson[at]wustl.edu)


Co-director of gnotobiotic facility

Marty Meier (mmeier[at]wustl.edu)


Director, CGS_SB Robotics Facility

David O'Donnell (dodonnell[at]wustl.edu)


Co-director of gnotobiotic facility

Sabrina Wagoner

Sabrina Wagoner (wagoner[at]wustl.edu)


Research Lab Manager

 

Justin Serugo

Justin Serugo (jserugo[at]wustl.edu)


Research Technician gnotobiotic facility

Administrative Staff

Stephanie Amen (samen[at]wustl.edu)


Assistant to Jeffrey Gordon

Top ^