Gordon Lab Personnel

Principal Investigator

Jeffrey Gordon, MD (jgordon@wustl.edu)


Research Associate Professor


Michael Barratt, PhD (mjbarratt@wustl.edu)

Program Director, Breast Milk, gut Microbiome, and Immunity (BMMI) Project
Executive Director, Center for Gut Microbiome and Nutrition Research


Instructors


Jiye Cheng, PhD (JCheng24@wustl.edu)

Characterizing expressed metabolic features of the developing gut microbiota of healthy and undernourished infants and childre

Matt Hibberd, PhD (hibberdm@wustl.edu)

Multi-omics analysis of the effects of microbiota-directed therapeutics on the biological state of children with moderate and severe acute malnutrition

Siddarth (Sid) Venkatesh, PhD (svenkatesh@wustl.edu)

Gnotobiotic mouse models for characterizing the effects of the developing human gut microbiota on enteroendocrine cell biology/host metabolism

Daniel Webber, MD, PhD (dmwebber@wustl.edu)

Characterizing structure/activity relationships in microbiota-directed complementary food prototypes for treating childhood undernutrition


Postdoctoral Fellows


Hao-Wei Chang, PhD (chang.hao-wei@wustl.edu)

Gnotobiotic piglet models for identifying interventions for durably repairing gut microbiota immaturity in undernourished children

Nathan Han, PhD (D.han@wustl.edu)

Studies of how members of the human gut microbiota mine and metabolize components of dietary fibers

Kali Pruss, PhD (kmpruss@wustl.edu)

Analyses of the metabolic correlates of MDCF repair of the gut microbiomes of Bangladeshi children with moderate acute malnutrition

Yi Wang, PhD ( wangyi837@wustl.edu)

Enteroid-based mechanistic studies of the effects of gut microbiome immaturity in undernourished Bangladeshi children on gut epithelial cell biology

Darryl Wesener, PhD (dwesener@wustl.edu)

Microbial community metabolism of insoluble glycan aggregates


Graduate Students


Zach Beller (beller.z@wustl.edu)

Computational & Systems Biology Program

Characterizing the mechanisms underlying fiber-derived glycan metabolism in manipulatable gnotobiotic mouse models of the human gut microbiota

Hannah Lynn (Bucklin) (hmbucklin@wustl.edu)

Molecular Cell Biology Program

Development of microbiota-directed complementary food prototypes for treating childhood undernutrition in different populations living in different geographic locations and having different anthropologic features

Alexandra Byrne (byrne@wustl.edu)

Neurosciences

Intergenerational transfer of gut microbial communities and their effects on neurodevelopment in the context of childhood undernutrition

Robert Chen (robert.chen@wustl.edu)

Computational & Systems Biology Program

Characterizing the mechanisms underlying development of environmental enteric dysfunction in undernourished children and the effects of the developing gut microbiota on brain development

Marie Crane (c.marie@wustl.edu)

Computational and Systems Biology

Experimental and computational approaches for defining structure-function relationships in microbiota-directed complementary foods designed to treat children with malnutrition

Steven Hartman (h.steven@wustl.edu)

Computational and Systems Biology

Mechanistic studies of the functional effects of microbiota-directed foods on bacterial strains present in the microbial communities of malnourished children and how they impact host physiology

Clara Kao (clarakao@wustl.edu)

Molecular Genetics and Genomics

Preclinical and clinical studies of the pathogenesis of environmental enteric dysfunction in stunted Bangladeshi children

Jimmy Weagley (jsweagley@wustl.edu)

Molecular Genetics and Genomics Graduate Program

Role of the gut microbiota in NAD metabolism in healthy and undernourished children

Cyrus Zhou (czhou25@wustl.edu)

Molecular Genetics and Genomics

Computational and experimental analyses of gut microbiome development/expression in healthy and undernourished Bangladeshi children


Senior Research Scientist


Janaki Lelwala-Guruge, PhD (Janaki@wustl.edu)

Culturing bacterial strains from the gut microbiota of children with undernutrition and adults with obesity


Bioinformaticist


Chandani Desai (cdesai@wustl.edu)


Visiting Scientist


Suzy Henrissat (suzyhenrissat@gmail.com)

CAZyme gene repertoire in the gut microbiome of healthy and malnourished children


Technicians


Kazi Ahsan (ahsan@wustl.edu)

Management of biospecimen repositories related to studies of childhood malnutrition

Su Deng (sdeng@wustl.edu)

Generation of multi-omic datasets from human gut microbiota samples

Maria Karlsson (karlsson@wustl.edu)

Co-director of gnotobiotic facility

Marty Meier (mmeier@wustl.edu)

Director, CGS_SB Robotics Facility

David O’Donnell (dodonnell@wustl.edu)

Co-director of gnotobiotic facility

Sabrina Wagoner (wagoner@wustl.edu)

Research Lab Manager

Justin Serugo (jserugo@wustl.edu)

Research Technician gnotobiotic facility


Administrative Staff


Stephanie Amen (samen@wustl.edu)

Assistant to Jeffrey Gordon