Contact Webmaster • © Washington University, 2005-2014

WashingtonUniversity Center for Genome Sciences
Home People Publications Supplemental Data Gordon CV Lab Tour E-mail Gordon Lab

This page was last updated November 8, 2016


Jeffrey Gordon is the Dr. Robert J. Glaser Distinguished University Professor at Washington University in St. Louis. He received his A.B. from Oberlin College and his M.D. from the University of Chicago. After completing his clinical training in internal medicine and gastroenterology and doing a post-doctoral fellowship at the NIH, he joined the faculty at Washington University where he has spent his entire career; first as a member of the Departments of Medicine and Biological Chemistry, then as Head of the Department of Molecular Biology and Pharmacology, and for the past decade as founding Director of the University’s interdepartmental Center for Genome Sciences and Systems Biology. Students in his lab have created innovative preclinical models, and developed new experimental and computational approaches, for characterizing the assembly, dynamic operations, functional properties, and biological effects of human gut microbial communities. He has combined these models with human studies involving twins as well as members of birth cohorts living in low-, middle-  and high-income countries representing diverse geographic locations and cultural traditions. His group is focused on addressing the global health challenges of obesity and childhood undernutrition through new understanding of the interactions between diets and the gut microbiome and new ways of promoting healthy development of the gut community during the first several years of postnatal life. He has been the research mentor to over 120 PhD and MD/PhD students and post-doctoral fellows. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (where he served as Chair of its ‘Medical Physiology and Metabolism’ Section from 2010-2013), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, and the American Philosophical Society. He is the recipient of the Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology from the National Academy of Sciences (2013), the Robert Koch Award (2013), the Passano Laureate Award (2014), the Dickson Prize in Medicine (2014), the King Faisal International Prize in Medicine (2015), the Keio Medical Science Prize (2015) plus honorary degrees from the University of Gothenburg and University of Chicago.